Should I buy for a commute?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

BlindXX

Hi, I'm new to all this, so apologies if I've missed threads or am re-posting! Soon, hopefully, my workplace will me moving to 9miles away from where I live, and I was thinking of getting fit and cycling once or twice a week. However, I am not a confident cyclist (very wobbly and a bit slow) so I was looking at a trike. I last cycled a couple of years ago and had a nasty saddle experience and havn't ridden since! I have quite a few questions/issues.
1. Budget is severly limited, so I have been looking at the KMX typhoon or tornado. What is the difference to someone who knows nothing? It will take me about 6 months to save for one of these!
2. I will have to keep it outside in a parking space, can you get covers and what sort of locks anti theft stuff is there that will fit?
3. How easy is it to get hold of and attach lights and other high vis stuff?
I will be travelling from Enfield to Potters Bar via backroads, so if anyone knows the area do you know how suitable the roads are?
Thanks for reading all this, hope someone can help!

Welcome BlindXX. I'm inclined to try to convince you to persevere with riding on two wheels. Several of we members have experience of KMX Karts and I'm not sure that any of us would want to use one as our one and only cycle. They are fun to ride but have their limitations.

Before you give up on two wheels altogether might I suggest that you approach your local authority cycling officer and inquire about National Standard Cycle Training. It's often free or subsidised and will provide you with the skills and confidence to enjoy riding a bicycle.

Unless you have a particularly unusual bottom (space alien, gibbon) I can't imagine that finding a comfy saddle will be too difficult. Bicycle saddles are designed for humans, I'm sure you qualify.

OP
OP
B

BlindXX