Slowing down now its getting colder

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

johnnyb47

Guru
Hi.
Im relatively new to cycling seriously, compared to some of you good fellow members. Its only been three years that I've got back in the saddle properly again. So far this year I've clocked up around 5000 miles, and the last 2 years gone I've noticed that my speed really drops off during the cold dark winter months.
Throughout the summer my average usually hovers around 17.5 but the last couple of weeks its gradually decreased to around 16.2 on the same routes.
Granted it's a little disheartening but i don't think its down to lack of fitness. I think cycling in the dark has had a negative impact. You become more cautious about traffic conditions and concentrate more on scanning the roads for pot holes etc that seem to come out of no where from the light of your bike light.
The cold is also another key factor to.
The last few evenings the temperature has dropped to freezing point on my rides. Winter cycling clothing is great at keeping you warm but it can still feel restrictive compared to summer clothing. Saying that though i think you're muscles still don't get to there ideal temperature when it's cold outside on the bike.
Another more technological reason I'm putting my slower pace down to, is that cold air is more denser.
Dense cold air means more wind resistance to push my feebly powered legs through. It almost feels like im riding through treacle when its cold
Does it matter though in the grand scheme of things.
Not in the slightest. This time of year its more about just getting the miles in under the belt and avoid becoming a couch potato in front of the tv. After a days work of computer screens and telephone calls its great to escape the artificial life of work, and escape for an hour or so and take in the natural beauty of countryside
All the very best,
Johnny

fossyant

Ride It Like You Stole It!