something a bit different

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

loopybike

Veteran
ok, I'm new to this forum, but I'd like some feedback

A while ago I had an idea for a different method of making a bike frame. I am a TIG welder by trade, so the engineering wasn't a problem, just finding the time!

so here is a mock-up with wheels and saddle just placed on the frame. For the actual bike I am using Espresso wheels in silver and a Sturney Archer 2 speed, coaster brake rear hub.

I fully understand that this is in no way a performance bike, due to the weight. But it is built from 316 stainless steel, so when i get to polish it, it will SHINE and keep on shining!

Oh and I have a Brookes saddle and rosewood/beech handle bar to go on it.

IMAG0495_zps49a28309.jpg

OP
OP
loopybike

loopybike

Veteran
IMAG0590_zps174afd0c.jpg

classic33

Leg End Member
Nice & certain to get noticed.
However too many joints, over 70. Each joint is a potential failure point. I'd say theres very little lateral stability in the design though

OP
OP
loopybike

loopybike

Veteran
Resisting twisting is my main concern ( and weight ) so I have started welding in-fill pieces between the circles. You can see them in the front few rows. Luckily I have access to cnc sheet and tube lasers, otherwise this would take way too long! These pieces have made a massive difference to the strength, and I think it looks better, so I will continue with them for the whole bike.

Thanks for your comments.

Spinney

Bimbleur extraordinaire
Brilliant!
A pity you had to put the top tube and down tube on, rather than just relying on the circles - for strength, I guess?

How does it handle?

OP
OP
loopybike

loopybike

Veteran
and it rides REALLY smooth.

frontwheel_zps00573b23.jpg

OP
OP
loopybike

loopybike

Veteran