SS Chain Masterlink

Discussion in 'Fixed Gear and Single Speed' started by EasyPeez, 16 Nov 2017.

Tags:
  1. EasyPeez

EasyPeez Über Member

Hi,

I'm new to riding SS. I gave my chain (which is a lot chunkier and more gold coloured than I'm used to!) a clean last night and realised that the quicklink/masterlink is different to the ones on my derailleur bikes. I had a go but couldn't work out how to split it by hand. It looks like the masterlink would be re-usable? But also that it might need needle-nosed pliers to get it off?

I have a pair of these, but wasn't sure if it was a good idea to try to use it with this kind of masterlink -

http://tinyurl.com/y9k33hpq

So, what is the best way to get split and reconnect the chain with the masterlink, and what do people carry with them on rides, if anything, as a precaution against a broken chain?

Cheers.

masterlink.jpg masterlink.jpg

dave r likes this.
  2. Sharky

Sharky Veteran

Any pair of pliers should be ok, however for a 1/8th chain or a 3/32nd chain, I wouldn't bother with a quick link, but just use the chain splitter tool.

Don't forget that those U clips are directional, with the closed end on the leading side.

ChrisEyles, dave r and raleighnut like this.
  3. mjr

mjr Wanting to Keep My EU Citizenship

Push the open right end of that pictured leftwards with the blade of a flat screwdriver. Once it's slid over the pins, lift it off from the left. Then pull the front plate off. Then push the rear plate with pins attached off to split the chain.

I just carry another split link with me and make sure I've at least a quarter inch of dropout available in front of the wheel, in case an inner plate fails.

EasyPeez and raleighnut like this.
  4. raleighnut

raleighnut Guru

Oooh, not seen a 'split link' for yonks

Smokin Joe and dave r like this.
  5. dave r

dave r The Little Diesel

Nor me, on the fixed I just use a chain tool.

ChrisEyles likes this.
  6. OP
    OP
    EasyPeez

EasyPeez Über Member