Surly Straggler

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
I have been riding around on a 56cm Surly Disc Trucker for some 12 months or so, having bought the frame used on ebay, I was stuck with the steerer that had been cut just a touch too short for my liking, I was regularly getting neck pains on what should be a bike with a very relaxed geometry. I've finally gotten fed up enough to make a change.

I just ordered a new Straggler frameset in sparkly blueberry colour, one size up and most importantly with a virgin steerer tube... very excited to give it a bash. Any Straggler lovers here? Aside from the sizing, I fancied a change because I mostly used the bike for commuting, but found it unsuited to off-road trials that I find on my commute home due to the low bottom bracket positioning, often snagging pedals on uneven terrain. I still wanted something I could haul my shopping on and ride on the roads, so the Staggler, which is a gravel/cyclocross bike, seemed like the perfect choice.

SPARKLY! :okay:
0618026_surly-straggler-700c-blueberry-muffin-top-2.jpg

Here I am waiting anxiously for delivery, feeling like a child on Christmas eve! :laugh:

Last edited:

andrew_s

Legendary Member
I'm confused too.
I'd expect a Straggler to have a longer and lower riding position than a Trucker (confirmed by more reach/less stack for equivalent frame sizes), which is surely the wrong way to move to relieve your neck problems.
I accept the BB height, but is 6 mm going to make much difference?

A replacement DT fork would have been about £125, and a shorter/higher stem would have been even cheaper.

gaijintendo

Veteran
Enjoy the new bike. You could have engineered around the issue with riser stems and new forks and so on, but I suspect you were in the mood for a new bike, so enjoy.

OP
OP
confusedcyclist

confusedcyclist

Veteran