Tingling leg pain.

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Steve1967

Hi all, I have been riding road bikes for about 6-7 yrs, over the past year or two, i have been getting tingling pain in my right leg and also numbness and saddle pain. i have had 3 bike fits in 4 yrs , tried several saddle and bought new shoes, but the pain/ tingling continues ...
it has got to the stage where i'm in discomfort for days after a ride, these ride have got shorter over time to just managing 50k..or less previously ive been able to do 100-150k. Doctor just offer physio and pain killers
anyone else gone through similar and what was the out come.
at the moment i feel my cycling days are over..

Mo1959

Legendary Member
Sounds either like impinged sciatic nerve or maybe piriformis? Probably best bet would be a good sports physio rather than a doctor to be honest.

vickster

Legendary Member
Indeed, what did the physio say? (Or have you not taken up the doctor‘s offer over the 4 years?)
I’d find a private sports physio who has bike knowledge and preferably also does bike assessments/fits (forget the bike shop fits unless the fitter is a trained medic as they don’t seem to be helping - a full physio assessment will cost less).
Do you have pain other than on the bike?
Do you have a regular stretching programme? A physio can advise once a diagnosis is made

Chief Broom

Veteran
Give up the drop bars for an upright flat barred bike? if it is sciatica the hunched over position could bring it on. I get sciatica and woundnt even consider drop bars.

grldtnr

Give up the drop bars for an upright flat barred bike? if it is sciatica the hunched over position could bring it on. I get sciatica and woundnt even consider drop bars.