Too little cable tension or is it fine?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
Hi folks. I am building my bike and yesterday night I installed the rim brakes.

I'm a complete newbie, never done it before so I watched a fair amount of youtube videos and followed their steps. I learned a lot about how brakes work, what the barrel adjuster does, and so on. I've reached a point where I am almost 100% happy with what I've done; the brake pads make contact with the rims when and how I want them (I don't like the levers to be too loose and I've achieved that, the pads touch the rims and the wheels stop when the levers are midway to the bars. Happy with it).

I was expecting for the brake cable to have much more tension, although this could be completely unjustified as all my other bikes have got internal cable routing. Therefore I don't have anything to compare my work with.

So here is a photo of the rear brake cable, that is routed underneath the top tube. I'm pulling it so you can see the slack. Do you think it's fine or does it need more tension?

fossyant

Ride It Like You Stole It!
It's fine, especially with SLR brakes as there are springs in the caliper and lever, reducing the need for 'stronger' springs.

It's fine, especially with SLR brakes as there are springs in the caliper and lever, reducing the need for 'stronger' springs.

Thanks. That's reassuring.

Can't wait to finish it up and take the baby on the road. I'll still try the brakes from slow first and progressively increase my speed :biggrin:

cyberknight

As long as I breathe, I attack.
depends on how much lever movement you want before the brakes bite, for me i would say to slack but its a preference.Test your brakes to see how effective they feel.

depends on how much lever movement you want before the brakes bite, for me i would say to slack but its a preference.Test your brakes to see how effective they feel.