Touring from Kent to Pembrokeshire

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Martin Rees

Unleash the Geek
Hi Everyone

So it’s been a while since I have been on here and likewise a long time since I have done any real cycling. to motivate myself I have decided to tour from Maidstone in Kent to the Marloes in Pembrokeshire in September. I will be camping along the way and carrying everything on the bike. This is my first attempt at doing a proper tour so any advice you can give would be greatly appreciated. I have done the London to Paris cycle back in 2015 but this was an organised even and I never had to carry anything other than daily items and basic repair tools.

I have the rough route planned and a few things I would like to see or do along the way but I am open to any suggestions of routes to take along the way.

So far I have included:

1. Cycle through London past Buckingham Palace, Tower Bridge and the usual sights

2. Cycle over a mountain (this will be the Brecon Beacons in Wales)

3. Cycle the Bristol - Bath Railway Path

4. Cycle along the Canal (Grand Union Canal Slough Arm)

Can anyone suggest any sights to see other than these and also any routes I should or shouldn’t take along the way.

Just to add I am doing this Solo and will be taking as little gear as possible so if there is anything you can suggest to take or not to take please let me know.

thanks

Martin

jay clock

Massive member
Lovely ride.. Personally I do actually enjoy cycling in London but many don't.. The main challenge of getting the nice sights is 30 plus miles of sprawl in and the same out again

I would head further south

Salisbury is lovely as is Bath.. I can recommend a good route

If you want to carry camping kit you will likely need a tougher bike than a road bike...

Have a look at my kit list for my next trip and feel free to email me there for advice Www.usacycle2018.com

All the best

Jay

mjr

Comfy armchair to one person & a plank to the next