Touring Questions?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

TechMech

I'd like to tap into the collective knowledge of the Cycle Chat touring guru's out there and ask the following questions:

I have a Boardman Hybrid, do you think this would make a good touring bike? It currently has a compact double up front 36/50 and 9 speed 11/34 at the rear. It also seems to have all the correct mounting point for racks etc

Also I've been looking at a rack and panniers for the rear, and as the bike has disc brakes i was looking at the Topeak Tourist DX and the Topeak MTX trunk bag here, am I looking at the right thing here?

What I'm looking to do is to be able to carry enough stuff to camp overnight for touring round the UK, but i'm a total newbie at this and I've no idea what equipment I should be looking at.

Cheers in advance for any help :bravo:

willem

Über Member
It is a nice bike but not ideal for loaded touring. So I would go for the lightest possible gear, to minimize problems. I think you will need some rear carrier. With disk brakes your best bet is probably Old Man Mountain. I think Ortlieb panniers are the best, though others prefer Carradice or Vaude. Limit yourself to rear panniers. If they will fit, wider tyres are much nicer if you carry a load.
Willem

Cathryn

Legendary Member
Any bike is a touring bike if you go touring on it. Don't let 'the wrong bike' stop you!!! Yes, there will be better bikes but I toured on a hybrid for years and had a great time!!! Just pack as little as poss as the weight is what'll get you!!

Where are you going?

OP
OP
T

TechMech

Cathryn said:
Where are you going?

Well I was reading a few threads on here and on crazyguyonabike and there was quite a few folks that have done West of Scotland routes and had a great time.

So the (very) rough plan at the moment is as follows:

1. Drive to Oban from Perth and leave car.
2. Get the ferry from Oban to Craignure on Mull.