Triban 3a or 5a?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Veganpower

Hi guys and girls,

after reading excellent reviews of the Triban 3 I decided that would be my first road bike. Went to Decathlon yesterday only to find out that I can't have one in my size as its end of line. As a guide I was asked to try out the frame sizes on the 5a. As a side note the sales guy said I look more comfortable on a 60cm frame although the size guide say 58 for 5.10!!!

Anyway, I loved the 5a it felt great but is it work the extra £130? I'm not keen on the idea of paying £299 for a 3a sine the 3 is the same price but a better bike!

any thoughts on the 3a or 5a would be greatly appreciated. I'm a newb to road bikes and I don't want to make the wrong decision. I'm soooo tempted to go back after work and grab a 5a. Helpppp.

vickster

Legendary Member
5a, better groupset, carbon fork - you'll only regret it

5'10, I think a 57cm triban should be right as they come up a little small. I am about the same height and ride 54cm road frames (it does of course depend on the geometry)

OP
OP
Veganpower

Veganpower

I got the pedals when I decided I wanted a road bike, he he. The only extra thing I need is shoes and lights. Although I do have my eye on a fancy helmet :blush:

I'm so tempted to grab one after work. Saying that the rain is coming heavy and I wouldn't want it to get wet on it's first day.

400bhp

Guru
Hi guys and girls,

after reading excellent reviews of the Triban 3 I decided that would be my first road bike. Went to Decathlon yesterday only to find out that I can't have one in my size as its end of line. As a guide I was asked to try out the frame sizes on the 5a. As a side note the sales guy said I look more comfortable on a 60cm frame although the size guide say 58 for 5.10!!!

Anyway, I loved the 5a it felt great but is it work the extra £130? I'm not keen on the idea of paying £299 for a 3a sine the 3 is the same price but a better bike!