Tubular or Tubeless

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

YellowV2

Veteran
As the title really, I'm struggling to decide.
I'm going to buy a new set of rim brake lightweight wheels, for use in good weather only and especially for cycling hols in the mountains but unsure whether to try tubulars or stick with tubeless. I've never used tubular before but am considering them for these wheels.
So if anyone has experience using both I'd be interested in your thoughts, I currently use tubeless on two bikes.

I like Skol

A Minging Manc...
Two points;
  • Are you unhappy with your current tubed set-up?
  • How will you overcome any tubeless problems that occur while you are on your potentially remote mountainous holiday?
I won't say what my opinion is...….

Edit: Sorry, I see you say you already have tubeless, my bad. What is making you wonder about the same set-up on the new wheels?

As the title really, I'm struggling to decide.
I'm going to buy a new set of rim brake lightweight wheels, for use in good weather only and especially for cycling hols in the mountains but unsure whether to try tubulars or stick with tubeless. I've never used tubular before but am considering them for these wheels.
So if anyone has experience using both I'd be interested in your thoughts, I currently use tubeless on two bikes.
The one is ridiculously anachronistic, the other one ridiculously difficult to live with.
Stick with tubed tyres.

Pale Rider

Legendary Member
Are you going to be followed in the mountains by a mechanic with five spare bikes on the top of an estate car?

If not, stick with clinchers, tubed or tubeless.

OP
OP
YellowV2

YellowV2

Veteran
Two points;
  • Are you unhappy with your current tubed set-up?
  • How will you overcome any tubeless problems that occur while you are on your potentially remote mountainous holiday?
I won't say what my opinion is...….