Tyre Glider

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

u_i

Über Member
I fitted a Marathon Plus to the rear wheel of my Brompton. Took at least half an hour and lots of swearing. There is no way I could have fitted that tyre with hands only and after cycling for 70 plus years I am not a novice.

I don't have Marathon Plus for Brompton, but I have one for 20" and, in fact, I was putting it on on Sunday. It was a few minutes with hands alone and this nor for show but just as the simplest way to get from A to B.

mjr

Comfy armchair to one person & a plank to the next
What I will also say is that I rode with the new tyres this morning.

I've always used M+ and was reading one of the tyre threads (not treads) that came up recently and saw that regular Marathons offer almost as much protection, but people rate their rolling resistance more highly.

As I've never had an actual puncture in over 11,000 miles with the M+, I figured, maybe I could get away with something less robust.

I know one ride doesn't constitute proof, but I had the slowest ride i've ever recorded on that route. It was particularly heavy traffic, but I could feel the drag all the way. Felt like pedalling through treacle.

If anything they feel worse than the M+.
Marathons have changed over time, not always for the better, but usually. I think the HS number increases with each change, and usually the tread pattern. Were the ones you had the same number?

mjr

Absolutely no idea.