Uh.... Just Window Shopping.

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
OP
OP
RoubaixCube

RoubaixCube

~Tribanese~
Not always a new cassette is needed with a new chain. Normally one gets 2 or 3 chains to one cassette. The only way to tell is to change the chain and see if you start having issues with some gears and if so then put the old chain back or change the cassette. Buy a chain measuring tool and then you can measure your chain on a regular basis..... when the chain has stretched to .75 then replace it and you would be fine with the cassette.

I totally forgot about 'chain stretch' actually - this was another factor that was mentioned. They told me they tried the new chain on but it wasnt playing nice with the existing setup so they put the old chain back on. Im still learning about the more 'in depth' arts of bicycle maintenance so i'll just have to take their word for it.

With that being said though, I was eying up a new Ultegra Cassette that was on offer on wiggle while i was checking out the brakes.

Its going to get chillier here in london before it gets warmer so ive spent money on getting better thermal wear which i need rather then unnecessary things like a new cassette - the brakes issue was pretty much an impulse buy

raleighnut

Legendary Member
@Spoked Wheels

Yup same tyres, 25mm Schwalbe Durano Plus tyres. I think they still got a few hundred miles on them before i need to think about replacing them. I hear Durano Plus tyres are like Marathons but without the weight.

Marathon Supreme's are also said to be pretty good but i think Schwalbe are bringing something new in to replace them or discontinuing them completely as they are slowly becoming harder and harder to find in typical road bike sizes.

Im honestly on a fence about the whole pannier rack business now. I loved the look of the bike without one and now I have it on, I want to take it off.