Useless at bike maintenance and repair :(

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
Im quite new to cycling. I have a road bike and I am doing an audax on the 20th and I thought ill practice repairing a punctured tyre, so I got the tools-inner tube,leevers and mini pump. I watched video tutorials about it a few times. I took the wheel off and took the tyre off the rim and looked at the inner tube and then tried putting it back together and the tyre did not want to fit into the rim correctly and I tried re doing it and I just could not fix it and had to go with my tail between my legs to the bike shop the next day with my bike in pieces. I just want to get better at bike repair and maintenance but it seems I'm completely useless at it and cant follow the online tutorials well. Also the other day I was cleaning my chain with the degreaser and pulled my chain loose and had to wrestle with it for 20 minutes to fix it and I did a poor job of cleaning my bike in the end. Any tips on how to get any better at bike repair and maintenance?

DCLane

Found in the Yorkshire hills ...
It takes practice. I learnt through my work's bike workshop where basic jobs were covered there and I repeated them at home.

Also I got hold of a cheap bike to have a go on. My first attempts weren't any good but it wasn't on anything valuable; the bike had cost me £10. Tried, tried again, learnt eventually.

You'll get there. A toolkit helps - decent tyre levers, a track pump, bike toolkit, etc.

Reactions: C R

ianrauk

Tattooed Beat Messiah
It takes a little bit of time, effort and learning to do bike maintenance. Bikes are simple things to work on at the end of the day and you just need the confidence and a little bit of know how.
Check your local area to see if there any bike maintenance courses happening.

Reactions: C R
Just take your time and you'll get there.