Using the top couple of gears only

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

colind

Hi. I just bought a cube aim 29er hardtail and am a complete beginner but I'm finding that I'm only using a couple a the gears on the bike when I'm on the road. I'm more or less stuck in the highest gear, but it still seems too easy to pedal. Is this normal? Im probably only going about 11-13 mph. The store says it is because it is set up for off road and I will need to buy a new cassette if I want to go faster. Does this sound right? Thanks in advance for your help.

mjr

Comfy armchair to one person & a plank to the next
Can you see or read off the specification what gears it has now?

OP
OP
C

colind

Pedal faster. Assuming standard triple, if you're doing 13mph in your highest gear that's about 40rpm for your legs. Get it up to 70-90 or more. 90rpm will be 30mph, see if you find that easy.
going out tomorrow, so will try to pedal faster. thanks for the advice

OP
OP
C

colind

Here's an article by the late great Sheldon Brown which briefly explains the concept.

http://sheldonbrown.com/gears.html
Thanks for that. just need to get used to pedalling faster. just didnt seem like enough resistance to power me forward any faster but I guess I just need to practice. Also when the gear was in the biggest ring at the front and the smallest at the back, it was making a slight noise.

As mentioned by others, just pedal faster. For a start aim for an rpm/ cadence of about 60. One revolution of one pedal per second. If you're pedaling slower than that, taking more than a second to complete a pedal stroke/revolution, then spin up and pedal faster. My average cadence is about 90rpm.

And no, you don't need a new cassette.

raleighnut

Legendary Member
Might be worth investigating if you can fit a bigger crank on it though, depends on clearance between the front rings and the frame but a 42 front ring is a bit 'titchy'

helston90

Eat, sleep, ride, repeat.