Very newbee question on shocks

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Warren

Hi everyone,
Today i went to thetford forest and did the black cycle route, great fun and really enjoyed it especialy the bomb hole. Anyways when i got back home and inspected the bike i saw that the front shocks have gone right up while i have been cycling, when i bought the bike off the internet they said it was suntour shocks with 50mm travel and no preload, but these are SRS shocks with preload and they have gone over 10cm in travel so im just asking is this a bad thing and should they be checked, also there are grease marks where the forks have travelled. I have posted a pic any advice will be apreciated and please remember i am a newbie to all this so i realise that this may be a dumb question but i dont want to end up having major problems.

Thanks
Warren

PS that is dirt at the bottom not grease coming out of the shocks.

Globalti

Legendary Member
Hi Warren, welcome to MTBing. Those marks look normal to me. Trail centre riding is hard on bikes so your forks going to full travel is normal. As long as the forks weren't bottoming out with a bang they should be fine. At least you gave the bike a check over after its hammering; some people would just throw it in the shed and expect it to work next time out.

Just wipe the stanchions clean and dribble a small amount of chain lube onto the seals, pump the forks a couple of times to distribute the lube and you'll get good service out of them.

The best maintenance advice I can give you is: don't wash the bike upside-down, as water will run into the head bearings and ruin them. Amazing how many seemingly experienced riders you see making this silly mistake.

02GF74

Über Member
Warren said:
Hi everyone,
when i inspected the bike i saw that the front shocks have gone right up while i have been cycling.,