Weight

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

compo

Veteran
I have lost on ounce under a stone over the last few weeks, in fact it could now be a stone since my last weigh-in. I ride a Trek FX 7.3. The naked bike weighs around 25lbs, add to that the panniers, rear rack, and all the clutter in the panniers.

I wonder how much it would cost to get a bike about 14lbs lighter than the Trek. I can't feel any difference yet, still hard work going up hill or into a head wind.

ColinJ

Puzzle game procrastinator!
Thousands - well done for doing it the hard way and saving yourself a lot of money!

The good thing is that the longer you stick with the weight loss programme, the more difference it will make to your climbing. I ended up not using the granny rings on my bikes for a year when I got really slim - see avatar! :thumbsup:

Well done on the stone!!

I started riding around 13stone, I'm now down to 9st 12lbs ish and the difference is phenomenal. I put a good 5lbs on over Christmas and I felt much better on the hills when I got back down a normal weight; that may be a placebo effect though.

You'll soon start to notice the difference!

paulw1969

Ridley rider
I have lost on ounce under a stone over the last few weeks, in fact it could now be a stone since my last weigh-in. I ride a Trek FX 7.3. The naked bike weighs around 25lbs, add to that the panniers, rear rack, and all the clutter in the panniers.

I wonder how much it would cost to get a bike about 14lbs lighter than the Trek. I can't feel any difference yet, still hard work going up hill or into a head wind.

well done Compo.....how did you lose it in just a few weeks then?

Blooming well done on losing a Stone Compo.
As for the potential of a lighter bike, why not look at an N+1 roadie and get out on that evenings and weekends.
You'll find a helluva difference and when alternately using/commuting with the heavy trek, still getting some serious work in.