What did you want to be?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

pplpilot

Guru
A pilot... I got my pilots licence along with a load of other ratings and my BCPL as it was then but things went the wrong way for me financially and never quite got the Commercial licence I was aiming for, always thought I'd pick it back up but never did just have to fly privately now ironic as I could probably afford to go all the way now but age is against me.

david k

Hi
I wanted,in no particular order to be; a missionary in Africa, a professional footballer/ rugby league player, rock star, astranaut. Ignored those dreams and became a plumber.

ha ha, i was a failed pro rugby player so became a plumber

D

Deleted member 1258

I'm 62 now and still don't know what I want to be, I've been a horny handed son of toil most of my life, doing manual factory work, but looking back would have liked to have done something better but still haven't a clue what.

Firestorm

Veteran
I always wanted to do something sciency and at 14 settled on Pharmacy
Rigid O level options and crap career advisors at school lead me to going to Uni ill prepared and I couldn't cope .
After failing the first year i tried other quantity surveying but didnt get on with it andended up in the City doing Insurance accounts.
I have never really enjoyed it but it paid the bills so I knuckled down and gave it my all , as it meant my family could be comfortable, my wife could stay at home with the kids etc...
Been doing it 35 years now....too old to change now .
I doubt many get to do what they want, needs must and a comfortable home life sweetens a less than brilliant work life

TheDoctor

Europe Endless
Wanted to be an astronaut when I was little. Eventually became an electronic engineer, and I work for a space science company. It's all good :biggrin:

ACS

Legendary Member