What's a sportive like?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Zeffer

One of my targets this year is to ride a sportive. I know I can go the distance, but need to keep working on hills.

But with no experience at all I'm slightly concerned about entering one.

What is it actually like? Do I need experience of group riding first? If there are feeding stations, what do I do? Queue up? Is the route obvious (I'm great at getting lost)? Anything I need to bring? Anything else?

Daft questions but I have no idea at all and that's why I haven't entered one yet. Maybe I just have to go for one and get the experience!

chappers1983

You should definitely work towards that goal. I started riding sportives in 2014 and instantly got hooked on it - ended up doing 24 last year. I was a little apprehensive entering for the first time, but there really isn't any reason to be.

You don't need any experience of group riding, you'll tend to find that most of the participants are on their own, or with a mate etc so there are lots of 1's and 2's spread along the road. Sometimes you might find yourself riding with someone of a similar pace, in which case you might want to feel like having a go at sharing the pace but if you don't want too you can just pootle along as quickly as you like.

There will be feed stations, the quality of which will vary depending on the organisation of the event. Very informal, there will no doubt be a table full off flapjacks, banana's, energy bars etc and a couple of barrels of energy drink - just mingle with anyone else who's there and take a couple of things.