Wheels

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

GregC

Afternoon all,

So I went out with my friend the other day (I'm a newbie) and we rode 11 miles, we both noticed how much quicker his bike was than mine, I'd have to keep peddling whilst his wheels just kept rolling and rolling (so so annoying!)

After this I've decided that I need to upgrade my wheels from my standard specialized allez ones, I've seen these two so far and I wondered on your opinions, or if you know of any better ones, I need more speed lol

http://www.wiggle.co.uk/fulcrum-racing-quattro-lg-alloy-clincher-wheelset-1/
http://www.wiggle.co.uk/campagnolo-zonda-c17-wheelset/

straas

Matt
Have you checked for obvious things like the brakes rubbing?

ColinJ

Puzzle game procrastinator!
I overtightened the quick release on the rear wheel of my mountain bike once, causing a lot of friction in the bearings. I had just put a very big new knobbly tyre on and blamed the tyre for the drag. It was only when I put the bike in a stand that I noticed that it would spin for less than 1 revolution unless I kept turning the cranks, and I could feel how hard that was. I adjusted the QR more carefully and the friction went away.

OP
OP
G

GregC

I overtightened the quick release on the rear wheel of my mountain bike once, causing a lot of friction in the bearings. I had just put a very big new knobbly tyre on and blamed the tyre for the drag. It was only when I put the bike in a stand that I noticed that it would spin for less than 1 revolution unless I kept turning the cranks, and I could feel how hard that was. I adjusted the QR more carefully and the friction went away.

Hmmmmm I do tighten my QR fairly tight but that's because I don't want my wheels falling off lol

He did upgrade his wheels from the standards though, not sure if that's makes that huge a difference or not

Good afternoon,

.. standard specialized allez ones,.../

You would be wasting your money. :rolleyes: