Which Bike for £1000

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
I am currently looking to buy a new road bike.
I have a limit of £1000, poss a few quid more.

Would prefer something different from the "big brands".

Your thoughts would be appreciated

Chris

Noodley

Planet X?
Ribble?

Noodley

Sorry, the hood, trying to type whilst making something to eat :tongue:

I have no personal experience of Planet X or Ribble bikes but they would be on my list if I had 1000 quid to spend:

http://www.ribblecycles.co.uk/pu/road-track-bike/bike-builder/bikebuilder/1
allows you to see a selection of Ribble bikes and kit them out to your own spec...might be a delay in delivery if accounts on here are anything to go by but good enough reports re quality.

http://www.planet-x-warehouse.co.uk/acatalog/Road.html gives the range of road bikes from Planet X.

OP
OP
T

the hood

Cheers Noodley.

I will have a look at those bikes.

I have a Boardman road comp at present but it has seen better days due to an unfortunate incident involving a taxi and a roundabout.

Thanks again

Gerry Attrick

Lincolnshire Mountain Rescue Consultant
Ah...try Googling "Focus bikes". They are sold through Wiggle and always receive good reviews. The only snag is you can't easily ride before you buy. However, I think Wiggle is more than happy to exchange until you are......happy, that is.

Wiggle do a 'try before you buy' on the focus and verenti brands.

Focus aren't such good value as they used to be 2 or 3 years ago but still well regarded.

Boardman Carbon from Halfords is still a good buy at £999. I know 2 people who recently got this on their CTW schemes and they're chuffed to bits...but I guess you'll want a change.

I've ordered a Ribble Sportive - which with Shimano 105 and 'entry' road wheels will set you back about £1070 (I've upgraded a bit -- once you start you just can't stop!)