Which products to degrease and lube chain?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

cycle_bug

thought i had something more to say
Okay guys, I'm new to serious cycling and still learning a tonne from the forum.. one on maintenance..

Moved my bike in to the house to fit a pannier, and heard this noise like sand / grinding coming from my chain / rings. Definitely aware that its non-rideable in this state.

Upon closer inspection, the bike's chain is absolutely submerged in a sludge of oily, gritty substance.

Now, since the bike was new in March, its been oiled once in April and since then I've been using a £1 shop 'bike chain lube' spray thinking this was fine but it seems to be picking up dirt and not performing very well, lesson learnt...

I'm going to get into Halfords this week to get some cleaner and lube for the chain and drive train components. Out of these two sets, which do you advise I buy? I know they'll both probably do the job, but if this was your money. Also, my chain is probably beyond the normal level of dirt given that crap I used and shouldn't have :-(

Muc-Off Kit - these guys must have a large marketing budget! see their products everywhere.
http://www.halfords.com/cycling/bike-maintenance/bike-cleaning/muc-off-wash-protect-and-lube-kit

Bikehut Cleaning Bundle
http://www.halfords.com/cycling/bike-maintenance/bike-cleaning/bikehut-cleaning-bundle

I've also realised to get between the cassette I'm going to need one of these brushes, thought this would be sufficient: http://www.halfords.com/cycling/bike-maintenance/bike-cleaning/bikehut-gear-cleaning-brush

I have promised myself the chain will never get this bad again. Raging as its stopping me from my evening cycles during the week!

Garry A

Calibrating.....
I use this and an old toothbrush. I take the cassette and chain off and clean them in a foil dish. Rinse, re attach then lube the chain.

OP
OP
cycle_bug

cycle_bug