White rose classic...... general cheering up needed.

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

andyfromotley

Hi Guys,

am doing the WRC (short option) to get fit, lose weight.... yada yada yada.

Despite being a million miles away from where i was when i started training, am still a million miles away from where i want to be. Did 38 miles to Burnsall this morning but the hills are KILLING me, and theyre nowhere near as big as the ones on the course.
apart from first 10lbs, weight remains steadfastly around middle!!!

Cheer me up and tell me i'll do it, coz for the first time i am beggining to doubt myself. :smile:

andy

ColinJ

Puzzle game procrastinator!
Okay - Andy, you'll do it!

My climbing hasn't been great since I put weight on, but I can still get over virtually anything in the North of England without walking because I've got adequately low gears on my Basso. I've down-geared to a 52/39/30 triple chainset and use a 14-28 cassette. If you don't have gears approaching that low, I'd strongly recommend that you get your setup changed. It will make your cycling much more pleasurable so you'll hit the hills more often, which will get you fitter, which will help you lose weight, which will mean... that you could switch back to your original gearing! If you already have ultra low-gears... er, you just need to keep on riding until it gets easier.

OP
OP
andyfromotley

andyfromotley

Hi Col.................. errrrrrrmmm....... granny ring fitted and abused i'm afraid!:smile:

Plus as you live in Hebden Bridge .............please tell me that there is at least one hill in that town that you cant get up or i really will kill myself. My car weeps when we arrive there!

thanks for the encouragement though

andy

ColinJ