Why the hatred?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

sjwood0

Morning folks

I'm new to the forum and perhaps there's been 100s of these posts but does anyone have people swearing at them on their commute? I've been cycling to work for about 5 years now and twice in the past year I've had complete strangers in vans swearing at me. The guy today yelled something like "get over (or get out road) you pr**k". If I rode any further toward the curb I'd come off due to all the man-hole covers and pot holes and I'd be less visible.

What suprises me is the level of agression shown, this guy must have literally gone from 0-10 in about a second. I too get wound up when I'm driving and I'm in a traffic jam too but I just can't understand why all their frustration about the traffic (and perhaps their life?) is directed to a cyclist who just happens to be on their bit of road. I'm considering a helmet cam to record some of this.

Steve

mjr

Comfy armchair to one person & a plank to the next
I'd get a camera but not put it on a helmet even if I wore one. I wouldn't want to risk it being the last thing to go through my mind in a crash.

I don't have anything like that aggression here. I think we've reached 20% of people cycling in the borough, which isn't Cambridge but probably enough that most people have family or friends cycling so they're less inclined to be dicks when driving near them. That's my theory anyway. I'll probably get shouts and a single finger wave when cycling today now!

Don't let them grind you down or dissuade you from safer cycling practices. Keep calm and smile and wave!

vickster

Legendary Member
Everyone subjected to the stress of modern life. Or maybe he was just a generally agressive twat brainless Neanderthal. He probably rants at learners, old ladies in Micras and kittens. Either way, twice in a year sounds low, just have an internal rant for a few minutes, then forget it and ride as Markymark says