Winter is coming...

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Hypermind

Hi all,

I've been commuting for nearly 6 months now, 5 days per week and so far I've only encountered the odd downpour. I have cycle shorts and a cycling jersey, both a long sleeve and short sleeve. I also have a fluorescent jacket but not sure it's that waterproof.

As winter is coming, how can I best prepare for it? I'm talking about absolutely freezing cycling weather, snow, rain, sleet etc. I have no choice but to cycle to work and back each day so I need to prepare without breaking the bank

If you could list your winter essentials I would be very grateful.

Many thanks
Chris

fossyant

Ride It Like You Stole It!
Studded tyres for when it's icy and keep a look out for Aldi sales. Their winter tops aren't bad

KneesUp

Guru
It's all about the gloves for me. My commute is short enough that I can just ride harder if I'm cold to generate heat - but no matter how hard I ride, my hands get cold. I cannot stress enough the benefit of wind-proof gloves, possibly with 'lobster claw' style ones on top.

Planet X often do 'winter bundles' - worth a look.

si_c

Guru
Adding layers is the best way I've found for dealing with colder temperatures, and keeping your extremities warm, especially hands, is important.

Once it starts getting colder I'll transition to wearing full finger gloves, then later full winter gloves, and then if it still gets cold, I'll put my windproof full finger gloves on first, then my thicker winter gloves.