Work & lifestyle changes cycle related

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Oldhippy

Cynical idealist
There was a feed on BBC about people who have started new businesses with the advent of C-19. Has anyone on here considered or started a cycling related work opportunity as a new way of living?

Nebulous

Guru
I haven’t done so. However work has lost its allure and I’m thinking of taking the hit to my pension that it entails and retiring - possibly around June.

The town we are moving to doesn’t have any cycling related businesses and I’m considering offering bike repairs and servicing. It would be a big step up however, from doing my own work, to tackling whatever people throw at me.

I’ve some background in the voluntary sector and an alternative plan would be trying to get a bike repair co-op off the ground. I’m not sure there is enough population to make that fly, and there are an awful lot of people in what is a rural area wedded to their cars.

OP
OP
Oldhippy

Oldhippy

Cynical idealist
Along similar lines to what I was thinking. I was talking to my local authority regarding a proposal I sent them earlier this year but it has gone quiet at their end.

Nebulous

Guru
@Nebulous both are big things .
Why not try the co-op first and see how that goes ?

Thanks - in many ways undertaking bike repairs would be the more relaxed incremental way to do it. I have a garage which is going to be a dedicated bike space / workshop / turbo room. I also have a van to collect / drop off bikes.

A community co-op would need space of its own, funding, volunteers and more concerning to me would be that I could end up doing all the paperwork and not getting near the bikes.