Would you be interested in training for adult cyclists?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
I am a Road Safety Officer who works for a county council. At present we train about 3,500 children a year in safer cycling, but we offer nothing for adults who may be returning to cycling and that strikes me as odd to say the least.

Things have changed markedly since many adults did their Cycling Proficiency as children: just as a for instance, we no longer teach people to ride virtually in the gutter, and the idea now is to take up a position which claims the lane whenever it is appropriate.

Obviously, I'd need to make some sort of business case for offering training to adults, so I am asking here whether it might be something that would interest you. Any training would be either free of charge, or provided at a very small cost. My idea is that we ought to do something before riders get killed, or seriously injured, and we then try to shut stable doors after horses have bolted etc.

Please tell me what you think. Thanks in anticipation

marinyork

Resting in suspended Animation
That is odd. Most councils I've ever heard offer some kind of adult cycle training contracted out through cycling organisations. So I would say that your council sounds pretty backward and you are forward thinking and with the times. I know(ish) a few people through a cycling organisation that do it for two LAs round here. There is demand there I can tell you and they have been looking for more instructors.

On a point of order, many young adults will probably never have done the cycling proficiency as many places gave up on the scheme. So it's doubly useful.

BigonaBianchi

Yes I can, Yes I am, Yes I did...Repeat.
...I'f ratyher councils spent cash on compelling motorists to attend 'cyclist awarness ' courses....most cyclists out there are not the problem it is the aggresive self centred murderous pigs of drivers who need to be targeted.

GrahamG

Guru