90 miles a day for 3 days... How to recover after each ride?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

PoisonIvy

I'm doing a 3 day supported ride from London to Paris in mid September. I started training in earnest in early June, being new to long distance cycling. So pretty much started from next to zero. I'm also carrying a couple stone more than I should be, though this has shrunken over the past couple of months. :dance:

Anyway, I'm up to an easy paced 80-90 miles on my big weekend rides now. I try to get in some hills on these rides (I'm rubbish on them). A couple of weeks ago I did 80 miles, then felt OK on my 20 mile ride the following day, but this weekend I did 90 and felt knackered the next day and did nothing (in my defence I have a friend visiting so used that as an excuse not to get out again this weekend but I'm not sure I could have got back on the bike regardless).

I'm worried about doing three days in a row. Does anyone have any advice as to what I should be doing in terms of cooling down/nutrition/warming up to ensure that days 2 and 3 of this trip are not only doable, but enjoyable?

What other training should I get in during these final weeks? I also do a spinning class 1-2x a week, yoga 1x week, and resistance training 2x week. I commute 15 miles round trip 3x a week, and get in a 25 mile ride one evening in addition to the weekend rides.

Last edited:

S-Express

Lots of unrelated exercise there. I would drop that and start getting your body used to doing big rides on consecutive days.

smutchin

Cat 6 Racer
Nutrition-wise, lots of protein immediately post ride.

Cooling down-wise, stretches can be beneficial after the ride - mainly calves and quads.

Don't worry about the hills - as long as it's not a race, just take your time with them, get in an easy gear and just twiddle up them.