A thread by a noob, for noobs

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

kerndog

Hi

I just signed up after lurking for a couple of weeks or so. This forum is great so I thought I'd join up... then I had an idea for a thread to maybe help fellow noobs make all of those tough decision you know nothing about. Im not saying I know anything, cos I dont. Im a freaking noob!

I recently decided to ditch my car, gave up smoking and got a push bike, not just to get me around but also to get fit on, I'm creeping towards 40 and growing outwards at a steady pace, i also think i may be entering the throws of a mid life crisis so I though, mistress? Speed boat? Sports car...? na bike.

To start with I wasn't really sure what I was looking for, all I knew was that my old MTB was slooooooow. after loads of reading, and some more reading, I decided it was a road bike for me. I had a small budget of about £400 when I started my search. i looked at new bikes at first, then did some research and decided maybe second hand was the way to go, what was it I read... "A new ford focus or a second hand BMW". So I did some more research, then some more and finally upped my budget to £450 for the bike and £100 for accessories (mmmm accceeeesssooooories).

As it happened an Allez sport compact came up on ebay just down the road, i frantically researched Allez's, I looked at specs, realised I had no idea what it meant then looked at reviews and read forums to hear what people who knew thought of them. I looked at original price, price for it new now, others on ebay etc etc. After far too long researching I decided it was the one and snapped it up. Well I say snapped it up I actually got a bit carried away as you do on ebay and by the time it came down to the final minutes I had persuaded myself it was the best bike on the planet and I was getting it whatever, I ended up paying £450.