Advice on Tubeless Tyres, please

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

CharlieB

Junior Walker and the Allstars
I've just purchased a pair of wheels as an upgrade. They've arrived this morning, with tubeless tyres attached. They weren't described on the website (Wiggle) as coming with tyres, but thank you anyway.
The problem is I'm completely new to tubeless tyres and the tech. behind them.
There's a big syringe and tyre sealant in the box. So do I now need to carry both these on a ride (they're both quite bulky), rather than the two spare tubes I'm used to carrying?
Are tubeless tyres more puncture resistant anyway?
Are they generally easier in practice?
Any advice would be gratefully received!
Thank you, C

Ming the Merciless

There is no mercy
Deflate tyres, unscrew valve core and inject the sealant into each tyre.

The only sealant you need to carry is that which is already in your tyres - the syringe and bottle can sit on the shelf at home, ready for periodic top-ups as required. The idea is that you have a little bit of liquid sealant sloshing around inside the tyre so that if you get a puncture, the liquid and the gunky particulates it contains get forced to the puncture hole and seal it up like Goldfinger in his plane window ^_^

Tubeless tyres aren't specifically any more or less puncture-resistant, but they are able to 'look after themselves' allowing you to keep riding. I had puncture yesterday, for example, which I knew about because I could feel the liquid spray on my left calf for a few metres, while the sealant did its stuff, but I could carry on riding home untroubled. I carry one spare tube anyway, as if the tyre punctures to the point where the sealant can't hold it (they say 5mm+) then it's just a slightly messier replacement of a tube at the roadside.