Am I too old to switch from Android to Apple (for mobile photography)?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

swee'pea99

Legendary Member
And, more broadly, is it a good idea?

I've been minded to replace my recently-departed (don't ask) Huawei P30 Pro with another, on account of nothing available on the bay within hailing distance of £200 coming close, photographically, but having seen this showdown v the iPhone Pro Max 11 (which nails several P30 bugs that have bugged me), and other reviews lauding the 11, I'm seriously thinking about making the switch, even at the cost of probably another £70 +/-. But I've never used anything Apple before, I'm not really set up for it (I've always lived in a Windows/Android world), and I can't remember what I came in here for half the time. Is it too late? Should I do it? Can I do it?

One other thing....my daughter says Apple have form for deliberately hobbling their older models, using updates, slowing and generally degrading them to make new models more attractive by comparison. Having experienced exactly that with both Samsung and Huawei, I find it very easy to believe. Is it a particular problem with Apple, or are they no more venal than anyone else?

Any thoughts/experiences much appreciated.

Joffey

Big Dosser
I think it is possible nowadays. They all transfer data over pretty easy. My 73 year old mother in law copes with an iPad and android phone and my 81 year old mum happily uses a 5 year old iPhone.

It might take you a day or two to get used to it but you’ll be right. The cameras are pretty decent and the best thing about iPhones is the tend to just work without many problems. That’s cos they are quite locked down compared to android.

If you fancy one go for it. If you hate it, sell it on, you won’t lose much money.

Cycleops

Legendary Member