Amateur bike repair

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

bjacob

I'm completely new to road biking and just bought a second hand bike. It turns out to be in a lot worse condition than I realised and I need to replace the rear cassette, the chain, the chain rings and the bearing. I've been quoted £180 for this. I'm thinking of trying to fix this myself to save money.

Problem is I neither have the tools nor the experience. Do you think this level of repair work is feasible for an amateur. Would it be cost effective for me to do it myself given I would have to buy all the parts and also the tools required.

If you were in my shoes would you just spend the £180 and get the pros to do it?

CentralCommuter

What kind of bike is it and how much did you pay for it?

if it’s a heavy road bike out of Argos that’s only worth £180 then it’s not really worth it, but if it’s a decent in need of some TLC then it might be worth the investment.

Drago

Legendary Member
Its extremely feasible for an amateur - many of the CC Masseev could do this blindfolded while juggling plates and whistling dixie.

Do a bit of research online and on YouTube, see if its something you can handle. If not, then pay the shop.

However, you'll need a cassette lock ring tool and a chain splitter, so straight away youre adding the cost of cycle specific tools if you don't already have them.

As above though, is the bike worth it? If its an Argos special then don't bother, but if its a bit beyter than that it may be worth the effort and/or expense.

Big John

Guru