Asking for Feedback about my bike lock invention

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Bickeylikey

Hey guys, my name's Liang I'm a college student and cyclist at USC. I've had three bikes stolen while at USC and it really pissed me off so now I'm doing something about it.

I've created a lock that specifically secures the wheels of a bike. It works by replacing the hex nuts or quick release skewers holding a bike in place. It's designed so none of the common theft tools (i.e. wrenches, vice grips, bolt cutters, flamethrowers, that laser gun from Goldeneye, etc.) can get through it or get any leverage on it.

The nut can only be tightened / loosened with the specific wrench that comes in each package. There are multiple variations of these nut:wrench combinations.

I'd love to get some feedback from you guys on the product, whether or not you'd use it, and any advice you have (from business/marketing ideas to product improvements).

Cheers,

-Liang
image.png
IMG_5222.JPG

OP
OP
Bickeylikey

Bickeylikey

Well, I tried that. The hammer and the screwdriver do not work. They can only have it tightened.

Reactions: _aD

_aD

Do not touch suspicious objects
Innovation in this area can only be a good thing. Having to lock both of one's wheels whilst securing a bike is a pain and if you don't want a lot of extra weight, can be very difficult. I would be surprised if there wasn't a market for this sort of device. Will your design lean toward having enough permutations to make it unlikely to get a matching key? I would be rather tempted if I saw this for sale...and I don't have a pricey set of wheels.

shouldbeinbed

Rollin' along
Looks good, nice and unobtrusive, the wrench is pretty and I would consider these at the right price.

Works as a way of them not just stealing the wheels but it wont stop them stealing the whole bike or if they feel mean just bending the rim.