Best fast tyres for MTB under £25-£30?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

itaa

Hello everyone, I'm in need of new tyres for my mtb ( the old knobby ones are worn to bits and the rubber is cracking, about 9years old I think based on when I bought the bike).

My main goal is to get speed improvement and ease of driving,I can deal with a bit less grip- I think the lowest rolling resistance would be the keyword? my use would be like 50% forest paths (hardly ever muddy or slippery),50% tarmac, but still need something a bit more tough to drive up a kerb and not fall over if I ever encounter some crazy mud?

I'm totally new to all this bike stuff ( well I ride the bike but that's all I do with it :biggrin: ) so really have no idea what's good /what's the best/ and whats not so good.

I want to spend as little as possible( who doesn't... :biggrin: ) , and I have found that at a lot of places the schwalbe city jets are pretty popular , can get them for 18pounds on fleabay, but If there's something much better I don't mind paying a bit more. However I got no idea what's good and what's not.

my wheel size is 26 and I think I want probably 1.5 wide tyres ( my current are 1.95) if that makes a difference.

Thanks in advance!

NorthernDave

Never used Über Member
Schwalbe Land Cruisers. Expect to pay under £15 each.
:okay:

OP
OP
I

itaa

Well I started to do research about the land cruisers and was almost set on them, until you posted that the hurricanes are better :biggrin:
What kind of speed difference really are we talking about here between the City jets vs Land cruisers VS Hurricanes?

Also I think the hurricanes only comes in 2.0 thickness? The land cruisers comes in 1.75 as well , even with the extra thickness for the hurricanes they are faster?

vickster

Legendary Member
Speed will be mostly down to you not the tyres. Buy the ones with good puncture protection especially if using for commuting on urban roads and rough stuff.