Bike carrier advice for Merc C Class

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

LJR

Hello. We're about to go to Devon for a week and would like to attach four bikes (two adult, two children 11 and 8 bikes) to my car which is a Mercedes C Class (registered December 2010). The car has the panoramic sunroof but does have the fixing points for roof bars (so I assume it take them). I am thinking I need a roof rack as opposed to a rear boot carrier of some kind but I've never done this before and so any advice would be great. I looked on a few sites but it's a tad confusing. From what I can work out I'll need a pair of roof bars and then some bike carrier bar for each bike - are they a universal attachment or do I need a bike bar from the same manufacturer of the roof bar? Are roof bars the best option for a saloon with no tow ball?

Absolutely any clear advice would be most appreciated! Thank you!

Trull

Über Member
Looks like you are the other C-Class owner in Cycle-Chat!!!

I've now got the same problem, and think I will battle with Thule's catalog to see what I need. Whatever I get it will have the "remove front wheel and clamp axle to rack" style of fixing.

John the Monkey

Frivolous Cyclist
Tried using the car finder on roofbox.co.uk?

We've used them on every car we've owned and not been steered wrong yet.

I am thinking I need a roof rack as opposed to a rear boot carrier of some kind but I've never done this before and so any advice would be great.
Definitely my preference - although I've used the rear mounted carriers, I don't like them. Roof carriers are easier, and more secure (plus you can still get in your boot, if you need to).
I looked on a few sites but it's a tad confusing. From what I can work out I'll need a pair of roof bars and then some bike carrier bar for each bike - are they a universal attachment or do I need a bike bar from the same manufacturer of the roof bar?