Bike fit not going well

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Fat-thor

Hey everyone newbie here. Purchased myself a canyon road bike 58cm. So far I'm getting terrible knee pain and the saddle is really uncomfortable.

I am overweight and want to get fit.I thought now is a good time to start with the coronavisus about..

I have tried watch videos on saddle height adjustments. Everyone seems to have a different opinion.

When riding after a few minutes the front of my knees start to hurt, if I stop peddling they are fine again.

I obviously cant get a professional fit at the moment so I was wondering if anyone could help me please..

thanks

vickster

Legendary Member
Sounds like saddle too low and possibly in wrong fore-aft position. Also are you using cleats?
Saddle, are you using padded shorts? It maybe the wrong shape or size or if new to cycling, just need to toughen up below.
When you go out, take an Allen key and tweak the saddle height a few mm at a time until pain goes.
How are your muscles in terms of flexibility, tight muscles can cause knee pain too

Last edited:

Sharky

Guru
Re saddle height, if you asked on here, most will give the same answer. Namely, straight leg with heel on the pedal at 6 O'clock then should be correct with ball of foot over the pedal spindle.

Saddle comfort can be elusive, lots of factors including tilt, fore/aft and saddle width. Just got to experiment.

But it sound as if you are just starting out? May have to be a gradual increase in mileage until you get a bit fitter.

Good luck

If you've not cycled before, saddle discomfort could just be your bottom not being used to it. That comes with time. If you are unfit and just starting out, your legs will get tired very easily, and when they do, you will be putting more weight onto the saddle - leading to a sore bottom.