Boiler problem

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
A heat wave here down south, 30 plus, so I've got the central heating on.

Reason?

The pilot light on my boiler keeps going out and can be a pig to relight.

The boiler hasn't been serviced for a while and I know there is muck in it.

Am hoping that having the heating on (though all radiators are off so it's just warming the pipes I assume) will help to clear the system/tubes. (yes I'm not technical)

I have noticed of late the pilot light is orange - not good?

Signs of what?

Reason I am posting is I am keen to narrow the problem down in case an engineer tries to give me a load of old flannel - particularly as it is an old boiler - a Saunier Duval. More info on it if anyone interesed/may possible have same model.

So if the pilot goes out and is running orange but the boiler works (once I have managed to get the pilot going) and heats the hot water and the radiators, the boiler is essentially OK isn't it and I just need the pilot light seen to?

I stopped the British Gas maintenance contract some time ago as they told me the bits were no longer available, wanted to flog me a new boiler, but couldn't answer my simple question about which particular bits were problematical. So I saw them as more salespeople than engineers.

Also, a bit before I terminated the contract, they had come to do the yearly check, given it a cursory look, said it was fine, and then soon afterwards it started making a terrible howling sound. After my callout an entirely different engineer came, hoovered out a lot of crap that was in the casing and promptly solved it, But they couldn't answer my simple question about why this hoovering of crap hadn't happened on the check-up visit just two or three weeks before.