Cannondale

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

BPCycler

Have only had Giants as an adult rider. But am serious considering Cannondale Quick Disc 1 Bike. From my research Cannondale sound like pretty reliable bikes. What has been your experience with them?

I'm torn between the Cannondale Quick Disc 1 and the Giant FastRoad CoMax 2.

If it has a BB30, stay away.

I've no experience of those models but Cannondale as a brand are one of the highest regarded main stream manufacturers out there.

I should.say - I own a C'dale CAAD10 road bike, (with converted BB), so do have a bias, but nevertheless you can't argue with their history and pedigree.

@Yellow Saddle makes a vaild point, but IMO the same applies to any press fit BB so it's not only Cannondale that affects.

Last edited:
OP
OP
BPCycler

BPCycler

Good on the BB. The edge is going to the Cannondale because of the groupset. Wish money was no object; I'd just buy one of each. :-/

Good on the BB. The edge is going to the Cannondale because of the groupset. Wish money was no object; I'd just buy one of each. :-/
If you Google about press fit BB problems you'll frighten yourself silly.

Yes press fit BB's are the answer to a problem that never existed, and yes Cannondale started the ball rolling with their BB30, but the early problems were down to a lack of grease in the bearings, (or so I was told), and I'm sure as others have taken up the press fit baton the durability must have improved.

The other issue with press fit BB's is their tolerances, (or lack thereof). Basically they seem to have a very small operating window in terms of silent running, and it only takes a tiny ingress of dirt, grit etc to start it grumbling. If your the D.I.Y. type then a quick strip, clean and grease usually solves this. It's a pain in the @rse granted, but the pros don't have to contend with it when their bikes are stripped and rebuilt almost daily do they?

Would I choose a press fit BB? No.