Combination pedals: any good?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
I came across some combination pedals on t'net; clipless on one side, and flat on the other and I was wondering if they are any good. I have never cycled clipped/clippless before and I am willing to give them a go on my day-to-day hybrid bike first, as I have recently begun riding a single speed flip-flop to fixed with toe straps, and would like to eventually graduate up to clipless on this bike.

My link

Banjo

Fuelled with Jelly Babies
I have been using a set of these for about 18 months Pedals work well weather clipped in or wearing ordinary shoes.

Ideal for a hybrid .

Mr Cheese

I "dipped my toe into the water" with combination pedals on my hybrid. I found they worked OK, but because of the weight of the mechanism, when unclipped, they would always rotate so that the clip side was down. Usually this was OK as I got the hang of flipping them as I clipped back in, but sometimes it just didn't happen, resulting in some interesting moments!

I actually found the whole clipless pedal experience very underwhelming. I gave them four months before ditching them. I couldn't really perceive any benefit, and found that despite several attempts to adjust them, they caused knee pain. I have ditched them now and moved on to DMR V8 pedals, and honestly haven't looked back.

Of course this is just my opinion, you may find they suit you fine.
thumbsup.png

Norm

I have been using a set of these for about 18 months Pedals work well weather clipped in or wearing ordinary shoes.

Ideal for a hybrid .
Yup, I'e got the A530s on my CX bike, the one I use mostly for commuting, and they are very handy.

ianrauk

Tattooed Beat Messiah
When I changed to clipless I started off with these, found I was never using the flats them bought some double sided....but good pedals though if you are planing on using a mix of clipless and/or trainers

OP
OP
Gareth

Gareth

Guru