Commuter Bike for Beginner

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Jarwan

Hello everyone,

I'm new here and pretty much new to cycling. Currently I own a car (through no fault of my own as I have a mother and I'm the eldest child, need I say more?). I'm in my 3rd year at University and I cannot keep the car on the road and pay the bills at the same time on a part time salary.

I'll finish University this year and planning on getting rid of the car when the insurance runs out in July and start cycling. The reason I've joined the forum is that I'm stuck with picking a good bike. My budget is in the region of £600 but anything below £800 I'll consider. I'm looking for a good commuting bike:

1- Low maintenance
2- Excellent build quality
3- Disk brakes
4- Mostly tarmac use but should handle some awfully maintained road (decent suspension)

I'm not asking anyone to go shopping for me, I'd like suggestion on bike brands or specific models that experienced cyclists like many of you have used. Thank you all in advance :smile:

i would say goto LBS or evans or halfords and sit on a couple and see which fits best at that price point it will be hard to find a bad bike if you stick to top makes.

heppy

Regular
The cube is a nice bike that fits your requirements but I will also ask if suspension is a must as it adds weight and saps your energy.

Before I got my sirrus comp I did think hard about the cube but once I took the sirrus out I knew what I wanted. I would suggest trying a few different styles and makes, most of the main manufacturers will provide good bikes for your price range.

Good luck with your search

Rickshaw Phil

Overconfidentii Vulgaris
Perhaps I should add that the Cube I linked to has suspension lockout for the road. Add full mudguards for £35 and a rack for £25 and it's sorted for commuting (doesn't need a disc specific rack due to the position of the caliper).

OP
OP
J

Jarwan