Compromise to clip in pedals on a road bike.

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Uphillard

I am new to cycling and not confident enough to be able to clip in or mainly out of the pedals. I am looking for recommendations for a good compromise for my bike. I was thinking old school toe clips for now but all i can find are cheap examples.

Sharky

Guru
Google Christophe toe clips and leather toe straps.

ColinJ

Puzzle game procrastinator!
I've used both systems and I'd say that you are more likely to have a problem with toeclips/straps than you are with clipless systems! It doesn't take long to get used to clipless, and after that you are unlikely to swap back. (I know one or two people who did revert, but the vast majority didn't!)

In the odd emergency situation I have had a fright trying to get my foot off a clipless pedal but I have actually toppled sideways with my feet still strapped in on the older system! :eek:

As a compromise... why not try half clips like THESE?

oldwheels

Legendary Member
I've used both systems and I'd say that you are more likely to have a problem with toeclips/straps than you are with clipless systems! It doesn't take long to get used to clipless, and after that you are unlikely to swap back. (I know one or two people who did revert, but the vast majority didn't!)

In the odd emergency situation I have had a fright trying to get my foot off a clipless pedal but I have actually toppled sideways with my feet still strapped in on the older system! :eek:

As a compromise... why not try half clips like THESE?
Never had a problem with toe clips and straps. The only time I toppled over was with clipless which I had for about 3 years before getting rid of them.

When clipless pedals were first introduced c1990 they were described as safety pedals. the theory being that if/when you come off your bike your feet immediately get released from the pedals. It works. As I've found out many times!