cycling and asthma

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
just wondered what peoples experinces have been as i'm new to cycling, my asthma is controlled by preventers and i take Ventolin as required which is pretty standard, do asthmatics take normal medication on cycling days or a bit extra for a bit of a boost?

MattHB

Proud Daddy
I'm asthmatic. I take a seritide preventer twice a day and never need my ventolin although I ALWAYS take one with me. The fitter I've got, the less I've been effected.

I do take hey fever tablets in season to reduce the chances of problems that might trigger my asthma.

As everyone's condition is different it would be wise to talk to your GP and get their advice as they'll know your case.

Manonabike

Über Member
In the winter months I wear a bandana over the mouth, specially when it's cold and it makes a big difference. Not even a hint of the symptoms which otherwise would force me to use the ventolin inhaler.

I'm an asthmatic too and have always carried my Ventolin in my back pocket as a precautionary measure, although I wouldn't suggest relying on a puff or two for support if you really don't need it. The endurance exercise will be great for your lungs naturally. I do take a hay fever tablet though, as mentioned above! Can do without a snotty nose while I'm rallying down a steep hill! :bicycle:

i am asthmatic and need my inhaler most days, i double up on the preventative a day before and on the day of cycling. make sure i always have inhalers and charged mobile with me. i also agree with the advice of covering my mouth if it is chilly to help warm the air

defy-one

I take my preventer every morning and evening. As my weight has reduced I'm using my Ventolin less and less. Cycling has definitely helped my lung capacity and general well being. Will try the bandana over the mouth when cooler weather arrives.

Feastie

Über Member