Endurance bikes, do they do what it says on the tin.

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Oldun

Regular
Hi all. First post, I’m needing some advice please. I’m just getting into cycling at very advanced years unfortunately. I’ve got a Hybrid for off-road. I’ve also bought a road bike, it’s an Bianchi Freccia Celeste, which I enjoy riding. It was seriously discounted but still not cheap, bought it as I didn’t want to spend too much if I didn’t get on with cycling on the road and would get a decent return if I sold it. I’ve found that I quite enjoy cycling on the road but find the road surfaces a tad challenging at times. Not only in comfort terms but also slowing me down. I read all the internet sites and have picked up that Endurance bikes are probably more suited for our roads. Can anyone advise if they are better in terms of comfort. I’m considering upgrading to a Bianchi Intenso as a possible option, now I know I enjoy the roads. Or would a wheel change on my current bike make the difference, I’ve got 25mm tyres on Fucrum racing 7’s that came with the bike. Thanks in advance.
Ps. I won’t be into road racing of any kind just a few hours in the saddle.

Spiderweb

Not So Special One
I'm not familiar with the Freccia, can you fit larger volume tyres and run them at lower pressure?
That may give a more comfortable smoother ride.

Bazzer

Setting the controls for the heart of the sun.
What tyre pressures are you running? IIRC my non winter 25s have a recommended pressure of 100 psi which is too hard for me, so I run them at 90. My Marathon+ for winter are taken down to 80 as they are uncomfortable at 90 bar.

Last edited:

Ming the Merciless

There is no mercy
Photo Winner
Wider tyres, lower pressures. So look for a bike that can take up to say 35mm. A lot of friends now run 28-32mm on their road bikes, increased comfort and can still easily keep up on the club runs.

U

User6179