Expert Needed!!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

53-11

My mother and father in law are having some trouble with a very expensive german made folding low step tandem that they bought less than a year ago from the UK distributor of these bikes in southern England. They need an expert to look at this bike and determine the reason for the failure of the hinge mechanism.

The problem is that the manufacturer is claiming that the in-laws caused the problem by fitting what they call a 'suspension saddle' to the bike. This is despite the fact that the saddle provides virtually no travel (<1mm) and is situated directly over the rear suspension of the bike - remote from the hinge mech which is just behind the front wheel.

They feel so strongly about this situation that they are willing to pay for the expertise. Can someone help please???

Manonabike

Über Member
I'm not an expert on these bikes but, having said that, this is the first time I heard a saddle being blamed for causing a fault. On the other hand, what sounds familiar is a company trying to blame a manufacturing problem on the bike user.

I would be very surprised if the fault is not a manufacturing problem.

gwhite

Über Member
The best advice I can give is to have your in-laws join the CTC. This would mean that they could avail themselves of the services of the CTC's legal dept. and of Chris Juden, the technical expert.

green1

Über Member
My mother and father in law are having some trouble with a very expensive german made folding low step tandem that they bought less than a year ago from the UK distributor of these bikes in southern England. They need an expert to look at this bike and determine the reason for the failure of the hinge mechanism.