First fall, wheel and tyre need replacing?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

MikeJD

I’m fairly new to cycling and had my first fall yesterday, luckily it was at low speed and i’m just bashed and grazed, my bike took the worst of it.

The roads where wet and my rear wheel kept locking up and slipping when going around bends, no matter how slow I went. My tyres were slicks at 100psi (which I’ve now learnt may have exasperated the issue). The stock pads on my bike don’t stop well at all, I’ve had some Kool Stop Salmons at home for weeks now and just haven’t got around to fitting them.

When I got back home I gave my bike a good clean and found both a slit in my rear tubeless tyre, and on the same wheel some damage to the braking surface and the tyre sidewall.

Ji7jaht.jpg

4ue9sbM.jpg

tNG5HW2.jpg

Will both need replacing, or are there any repairs I can do? Although it seems to braking surface damage seems to just about clear the break pad, I’m worried the damage will destroy any replacement pads I fit. Any advice on stopping the locking/sliding in the wet would be great too!

I’ve not had the bike for long, now I understand why they say don’t spend thousands on your first bike! My pedals and bar tape were damaged too, but that looks just cosmetic.

Thanks

Johnno260

Veteran
The tyre I don't like the look of, if it was mine I would change it, but I tend to air on the side of caution, but to me that tear looks like an open wound, things will get caught in there and could cause a puncture or cause the tyre to blowout.

As for the braking surface, I'm not sure, could a very light emery cloth be used to rid the surface of the damage?

Edit: we all fall off at some point, just get back on ASAP and take care, least you took nothing but a few bumps and scrapes.

I like Skol

A Minging Manc...
That is some pretty hefty gouging of the rim for a wet weather fall/slide :eek: