Garmin 1030 Plus or Edge Explore 2? Just touring ...

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Hankj

Regular
Some help please selecting between the 1030 Plus and the Explore 2. I've never used a cycling computer before. My major goal is to get my phone off my handlebars. I ride locally and tour in Europe alone and with family most summers.

Would like to use Komoot to make my routes, have rerouting in computer, control music/media from the head unit, quality easy to see touch screen, upload completed rides to Strava. Hill profile would be nice too.

1030 Plus $506 all in new (used "like new" $440 Amazon)
Explore 2 $330 all in

How much better is the bigger screen on the 1030 plus? In terms of touch performance? In visibility for aging eyes?

Is the user interface significantly different between these models?

Does the navigation work the same or is one better than the other?

Thank you for advice - I'm feeling like springing for the bigger screen might be worth it but don't want to waste money either.

steveindenmark

Legendary Member
Just to throw something into the works.

Why not look for a Wahoo Bolt? Now the Wahoo Roam has been released. Wahoo Bolts can be had on market places very cheaply.

I have just got one for £30 and it is like new. I was a bit fortunate. I find them a lot easier to use than Garmins. But I do have the 1030 as a standby.

I did a 155km gravel ride at the weekend in an area I had never been to before. The Wahoo worked brilliantly.

20230422_075518.jpg

Screenshot_20230425_192829_Strava.jpg

PaulSB

Legendary Member
Why not look at Wahoo Roam? A similar price to the 1030 and a vastly superior product. For one thing you won't have to jab at a touch screen at the same moment you hit a lump in the road! That is a real issue.