Garmin edge help needed

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

old-biddy

My first post here as I am fairly new to the whole cycling thing and will have loads of questions.

My first problem lies with my garmin edge 705. I have been merrily using it for a few months. I use bike route toaster to draw my route then download it to garmin unit as a gpx file whereby it gives me turn by turn instructions which i like

When I recently did 2 routes in BKT after i downloaded them I couldn't use them as it came with an error message -something like =exceeded number of trackponits- I deleted some old routes I had but this doesn't help.

So guess my first question is a two parter. CanI use TCX files in the same way to give me turn instructions and how do I make my gpx routes to have less than 100 trackpoints?

MissTillyFlop

Evil communist dictator, lover of gerbils & Pope.
Hiya,

When i have this problem, I use http://www.gpsies.com/home.do to convert it into a tcx file and then back into a GPX file and this seems to work.

I use ridewithGPS as it creates create tcx files which have turn by turn instructions. It also has the option of making gpx routes which have less than the 100 trackpoints but I prefer the tcx files now. With the older 305 you need to however, go through the palaver of importing them to Garmin Training Centre and syncing them to the unit; I believe with the 705 you can transfer them straight to the unit.

zoxed

Über Member
...how do I make my gpx routes to have less than 100 trackpoints?

Ideally the program you are planning with should handle this. I use http://www.qlandkarte.org/ and I *think* they just introduced a configuration item to set this, but I have not tried this.
On Linux I use http://www.gpsbabel.org/ to connect to my Garmin 305, and this also has a "simplify" function where you can give it the maximum number of points (gpsbabel -r -i gpx -f $FILE -x simplify,count=100 -o garmin -F $DEVICE).