Giant PR2 wheel upgrade (£300 budget)

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

fraz101

I have the above on my giant defy advanced and so far all I’ve read is negative reviews about them, heavy,poor quality etc.

My Freehub bearing just gave up so I’ve had to shell out money on the rear wheel to get me back up and running.

Can i get some input on a reasonably priced upgrade on these wheels.

Disk model with 12mm through bolt attachment and 6 bolt 140mm disks. I weigh 70kg and looking for reliability,durability and ease of repairs/service over weight saving/performance.

I am happy to buy used or new for the right pair. With a budget of £300.

I’m not experienced at all on the subject so I’m open to all information available from other members on what spoke count etc I should go for.

I cycle for fitness and also just joined my local club so would be doing that type of cycling.

Thank you in advance.

Last edited:

vickster

Legendary Member
Budget? Bit of a how long is a piece of string otherwise :smile:

I like Skol

A Minging Manc...
Get some handbuilts...

I have 12mm thru axles and when it came time for replacement went for a Shimano 105 rear hub with 32 spokes (commuter bike with panniers). For the front I decided to stay with the own brand front hub on 24 spokes. Spoke count was a gamble as I would normally go 32 or even 36 for serious over-engineering but so far no issues. The hub seems much the same as any other due to cartridge bearings, so bearing quality is the key factor and I have fitted Enduro's. I'm sure Shimano do a suitable matching front hub if you need it.

Rims are a personal choice, u have always sworn by Mavic but issues with my Open Pro's splitting around the nipples have seen me switching to Swiss DT rims

Wheel weight is ALWAYS a secondary consideration for me when it comes to wheels. Reliability and longevity are the over-riding aim.

13 rider

Guru