Gravel bikes - I'm a convert!

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

simon.r

Person
I've been umming and ahhing about buying a gravel bike for a few months.

The cycnic in me was fairly convinced they were a marketing ploy and that they'd be the worst of both worlds - slow on the road and not up to much off-road.

The optimist in me thought they sounded like a good idea for much of the type of riding I do.

I live a few miles from Nottingham city centre and to get to any decent off-road trails I have to drive, which doesn't sit comfortably with me in these environmentally aware times. But I do enjoy getting off road onto canal tow paths, riverside tracks, country parks (we have a number of ex-pit sites that have been turned into semi-wild parks in this area) and so on.

I can do this on my road bike (fitted with 30mm tyres), but I have to avoid the rougher trails and tend not to 'explore' too much as when I do I often end up walking with (or carrying) my bike.

So, I took the plunge and bought this:

A Genesis Fugio - a heavily discounted 2019 model, which I figured I could sell at not too much of a loss if I really didn't like it.

I'm not long back from my first proper ride on it - a 30 mile loop from my front door, taking in as much off-road as possible.

What a blast! It is slower on road, but not massively, it's comfy on badly surfaced roads and it's more capable off-road than I expected it to be. It was great on gravel (:okay:) and coped pretty well on more lumpy tracks and muddy gloopy tracks.

Those of us who can remember riding rigid MTB's with 2" tyres will notice similarities, but this is much nicer to ride on road and the drops / modern brakes / gearing / geometry make it more fun and almost as capable off road.

It won't replace my road bike or my MTB, but I think it will get used fairly often.

Globalti

Legendary Member
Interesting write up. What size is it?

OP
OP
simon.r

simon.r

Person