How to train from standing start to 260km ride in two weeks?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

esvee

Hello

Some brief background, I'm a decent amateur cyclist (or I was) but have largely been focussing on running this year and have only done 550km of riding, and due to work pressures and holidays have done basically nothing for two weeks now. I also now have Covid and don't expect to be able to train until the start of next week at the earliest.

All of this is a problem because on 2nd April I'm doing the Tour of Flanders sportive, the full fat version at 260km with c.2,250m of climbing and all the cobbles. I'm mildly petrified. I have done rides of this distance in the past but not with this amount of elevation and the cobbles.

I'm looking for advice on what I can do in those two weeks to give me the best chance of completing the event on the day. I have an indoor trainer and can probably give 2/3 hours on weekdays and have the w/e of 26/27 March free for long rides.

Conscious that even though my case of Covid has been mild I probably don't want to be doing high intensity efforts too early. If anyone can offer any advice about how I might structure training in the time I have (and whether any taper is advisable/necessary?) it would be much appreciated.

Thanks

T4tomo

Legendary Member
do a bit of turbo work and then ride 160km on 26th or 27th and hope for the best.....

Dogtrousers

Kilometre nibbler
I think you're going to have to rely on your innate fatigue resistance (which if you're lucky is high) and mental strength. I don't know if you're going to be able to make a huge amount of difference in terms of fitness in that time.

You'll be playing off two issues: Go too fast and you burn out your reserves too quickly, go too slow and you just make things worse for yourself because it takes longer ... and longer. So try to see if you can figure out what is the best sustainable level of exertion for you.